TDP Sets March 5 Deadline for BJP to Deliver on Andhra Special Status

Hyderabad: As politics over special status is heating up in Andhra Pradesh, the Telugu Desam Party has given March 5 as deadline to the BJP-led Central government to fulfil the promises made to the state.

On March 5, the next session of the Parliament is scheduled to begin.

TDP MP Kesineni Srinivas, speaking to CNN-News18, said, “We are demanding that all 19 assurances listed in the AP Reorganisation Act must be fulfilled. If by March 5, promises are not fulfilled, our Chief Minister will take a decision.”

The YSR Congress Party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy had earlier put TDP in a spot by asking Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu to make TDP MPs collectively resign along with YSRCP MPs on April 6, to push for a collective fight for special status.

Addressing the public during padyatra, Jagan Mohan Reddy had said, “TDP should also join us in resignations. All 25 MPs from the state should resign together to mount pressure on Centre. Special status is our right and we will not get cheated by special package.”

Reacting to the challenge of Jagan Reddy, a state minister Adinarayana Reddy, addressing media in Vijayawada, said, “Our party leaders will resign even before YSRCP. They will resign on April 6, our deadline is March 5.”

The Minister, however, later clarified that the remarks were his personal opinion and decision on resignation or walking out of alliance will only be taken by Chandrababu Naidu.

With BJP alliance in both State and Centre, TDP is weighing its options in its fight to get special status for Andhra Pradesh. As the first step, the TDP MPs were aggressively seen disrupting Budget session to highlight problems of Andhra Pradesh.

The rift between BJP-TDP is out in the open. Only toime will tell whether TDP will take any stern action.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *